What is ICC Cricket World Cup

icc cricket world cup, sportswhy, icc cricket world cup 2019

ICC Cricket World Cup is one of the top cricketing prizes in One Day Cricket. It proves your standing in front of all major cricket teams in the world. In every four years, it is being organised by Internationa Cricket Council (ICC).

First ICC Cricket World Cup was held England on June 1975. Interestingly Women’s ICC Cricket World Cup was held two years earlier in 1973 at England.  1975, 1979 and 1983 world cup tournaments were held in England. In 1987, for the first time, ICC Cricket World cup was held outside England and jointly hosted by India and Pakistan.

Top ranking teams automatically qualify for the tournament. Other teams have to play qualification tournament held by ICC. ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 will have only ten teams.

Follow Sports Why for more cricket updates and articles.

Facts of ICC Cricket World Cup

  • Australia won ICC Cricket world cup for a record five times.
  • India and West Indies won the tournament two times.
  • Till 2015 edition, total 20 teams have played world cup.
  • Australia held an unbeaten streak of 35 matches from 1999 edition to 2011 edition.
  • Kenya reached in semi-finals of 2003 world cup which was the best performance ever by non-full time member.
  • Australia had the most number of victories in world cup matches with 62 wins. New Zealand and India behind them with 48 and 46 victories respectively.
  • Bermuda, East Africa, and Namibia are still looking for their first victory in the world cup.
  • Zimbabwe had the most number of loses 42 in the world cup and Sri Lanka is behind them with 35 loses.
  • Netherlands and Canada had played world cup 4-4 times but never cross group stages.
  • South Africa had a  second-best winning percentage in world cups as 65% but still never crosses semi-finals. Australia had the highest winning percentage of 75%.
  • England had been a runner-up for a record of three times.

(All the facts are updated till 28/10/2018)

Winners of ICC Cricket World Cup

Year and HostWinnerRunner-up
1975 EnglandWest IndiesAustralia
1975 EnglandWest IndiesEngland
1983 EnglandIndiaWest Indies
1987 India, PakistanAustraliaEngland
1992 Australia, New ZealandPakistanEngland
1996 India, Pakistan, Sri LankaSri LankaAustralia
1999 England, WalesAustraliaPakistan
2003 South Africa, Namibia, ZimbabweAustraliaIndia
2007 West IndiesAustraliaSri Lanka
2011 India, Sri Lanka, BangladeshIndiaSri Lanka
2015 Australia, New ZealandAustraliaNew Zealand
2019 England, Wales
2023 India

Some other facts-

In 2003, the first time a mascot was used in ICC Cricket World cup. Dazzler the Zebra was used in the 2003 World Cup in South Africa. In 2007, Mello was used as a mascot and in 2011, it was Stumpy a blue elephant.

Man of the tournament awarded since 1992 edition. Martin Crowe, Sanath Jayasuriya, Lance Klusener, Sachin Tendulkar, Glenn McGrath, Yuvraj Singh, and Mitchell Starc had won the award till 2015 world cup.

Follow Sports Why for more cricket updates and articles.