Indian Premier League | winners, sponsors, facts and figures

IPL 2019 full schedule, sportswhy, IPL 2019 schedule

Indian Premier League (IPL) or also known as Vivo Indian Premier League is a professional T-20 Cricket league in India. It was founded by BCCI (Board of control for Cricket in India) in 2008. League had some strict rules like only 4 overseas players can play in a match, a salary cap of the entire squad cannot exceed 80 crores INR.

Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians were the most successful franchises in IPL history by winning 3 prizes each.

Indian Premier League sponsors

From the beginning of the league 2008 to 2012, DLF was the sponsor for IPL. DLF got the sponsorship by bidding 200 crores INR for 5 seasons of IPL. After that Pepsi got sponsorship rights for the next 5 season for 396 crores INR. However, BCCI terminated the deal two years before the expiry of the contract and send the sponsorship to Vivo for the next two years. In 2017, Vivo retained the sponsorship with a bid of 2199 crores INR till 2022.

SponsorPeriodFees per year (In INR)
DLF2008-201240 crores
Pepsi2013-201579 crores
Vivo2016-201795 crores
Vivo2018-2022439.8 crores


Also read: Amazing facts about Cricket.

Indian Premier League Winners

2008Rajasthan RoyalsChennai Super Kings
2009Deccan ChargersRoyal Challengers Banglore
2010Chennai Super KingsMumbai Indians
2011Chennai Super KingsRoyal Challengers Banglore
2012Kolkata Knight RidersChennai Super Kings
2013Mumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings
2014Kolkata Knight RidersKings XI Punjab
2015Mumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings
2016Sunrisers HyderabadRoyal Challengers Banglore
2017Mumbai IndiansRising Pune Supergiant
2018Chennai Super KingsSunrisers Hyderabad


sportswhy, sports why, cricket, ipl 2019, ipl 2019 released players, ipl 2019 retained players

Indian Premier League Orange Cap Winners

The orange cap is given to the leading run scorer in IPL. Brendon McCullum was the first player to wear the orange cap and Shaun Marsh was the first player to win this award.

EditionPlayerTeam and Runs
2008Shaun MarshKings XI Punjab (616)
2009Matthew HaydenChennai Super Kings (735)
2010Sachin TendulkarMumbai Indians (618)
2011Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Banglore (608)
2012Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Banglore (733)
2013Michael HusseyChennai Super Kings (733)
2014Robin UthappaKolkata Knight Riders (660)
2015David WarnerSunrisers Hyderabad (562)
2016Virat KohliRoyal Challengers Banglore (973)
2017David WarnerSunrisers Hyderabad (641)
2018Kane WilliamsonSunrisers Hyderabad (735)


Indian Premier League Purple Cap Winners

The purple cap is given to the leading wicket-taker in IPL. Sohail Tanvir was the first player to win this award.

EditionPlayerTeam and wickets
2008Sohail Tanvir Rajasthan Royals (22)
2009RP Singh Deccan Chargers (23)
2010Pragyan Ojha Deccan Chargers (21)
2011Lasith MalingaMumbai Indians (28)
2012Morne MorkelDelhi Daredevils (25)
2013Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings (32)
2014Mohit SharmaChennai Super Kings (23)
2015Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings (24)
2016Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad (23)
2017Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad (26)
2018Andrew TyeKings XI Punjab (24)


Follow Sports Why for more Cricket and other sports updates and articles.