Sri Lanka, Bangladesh failed to directly qualify into T20 World Cup 2020

Sri Lanka, Bangladesh failed to directly qualify into T20 World Cup 2020, sportswhy, sri lanka cricket, sri lanka cricket team sportswhy, cricket udpates, cricket news

Former champions Sri Lanka and Bangladesh failed to qualify for ICC T20 World Cup 2020 directly. Now both the teams have to fight in the qualifier to book their seat in world cup. ICC announced top 8 teams will qualify for World Cup 2020 directly. Afghanistan made the history and qualified directly for the first time in the World Cup.

Following teams were announced by ICC for direct qualification in T20 World Cup 2020.

  1. Pakistan
  2. India
  3. England
  4. Australia
  5. South Africa
  6. New Zealand
  7. South Africa
  8. Afghanistan

Also read: ICC announced latest ODI player rankings

Sri Lanka captain Lasith Mallinga replied to the news and said, “It is a bit disappointing that we have not been able to ensure a direct Super 12s berth but I’m confident that we will do well in the tournament”.

Things you should know about the tournament.

Australia will host ICC T20 World Cup 2020. Windies men’s team will be defending champions in the tournament.

As per qualification rules, top 8 teams will directly qualify for super 12s stage while remaining two teams have to play in the group stage. They have to play with teams coming from ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier in 2019. Then after 4 teams will qualify for super 12s stage.

Follow SportsWhy for more updates.