Indian Super League all facts, figures and winners you need to know

indian super league 2018-19, indian super league 2018, indian super league schedule, indian super league football, indian super league winners, indian super league sportswhy, indian super league news, indian super league attendance,

The Indian Super League is a men’s football league in India and also known as Hero Indian Super League. Indian Super League was launched on 21 October 2013 by International Management Group(IMG), Reliance Industries and Star Sports.  During first three seasons, the league was not recognised by AFC (Asian Football Confederation) but on 2017-18 season league got official recognition from AFC.  For the first three seasons, Indian Super League was held with 8 teams but from 2017-18 now it is organised with 10 teams.

Indian Super League facts

Full Form – Indian Super League or Hero Indian Super League.

Organising body – All India Football Federation (AIFF)

Country – India

Number of Teams – 10 (In 2014, 2015 and 2016 seasons there were 8 teams).

Website –

Indian Super League teams

There is a total of ten teams in this league.

  1. ATK (Atlético de Kolkata)
  2. Bengaluru
  3. Chennaiyin
  4. Delhi Dynamos
  5. Goa
  6. Jamshedpur
  7. Kerala Blasters
  8. Mumbai City
  9. NorthEast United
  10. Pune City

Indian Super League Winners

Season Winner Runnerup
2014 Atlético de Kolkata Kerala Blasters
2015 Chennaiyin Goa
2016 Atlético de Kolkata Kerala Blasters
2017-18 Chennaiyin Bengaluru
2018-19 TBD TBD

Hero of the League

Season Hero of the League
2014 Iain Hume
2015 Stiven Mendoza
2016 Florent Malouda
2017-18 Sunil Chhetri
2018-19 TBD

Indian Super League stadiums

From 2014, many stadiums in India hosted ISL. Two cricket stadiums Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Kochi and DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai hosted the matches. ISL also hosted in Fatorda Stadium in Goa, the Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata, and the Balewadi Stadium in Pune. These stadiums are mainly used by I-League in India. Three more stadiums like the Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium in Assam, the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Chennai, and the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Delhi used less frequently. In 2017, the Rabindra Sarobar Stadium (Kolkata) hosted the ATK team. But in 2018-19 ATK again moved to Salt Lake Stadium.

From the season 2017-18, the Sree Kanteerava Stadium in Bengaluru and the JRD Tata Sports Complex in Jamshedpur also introduced.

Follow SportsWhy for more football and other sports updates and articles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *